Restore RDS Cluster Action | Skeddly

Skeddly Blog

Skeddly news and announcements...

Restore RDS Cluster Action

To help reduce your RDS costs, Amazon RDS allows you to stop and start your RDS instances. This is a very helpful cost-reduction technique that can be used in development, staging, or other environments where RDS instances do not need to be available 24/7.

Skeddly includes actions such as “Start RDS Instances” and “Stop RDS Instances” to help you automate this cost saving technique.

However, Aurora RDS clusters and instances cannot be stopped. They can only be terminated and recreated.

We have added a new action to Skeddly to help you lower your Aurora RDS costs by deleting and recreating your Aurora clusters. Our new action is called “Restore RDS Cluster”.

The new “Restore RDS Cluster” action will restore a fresh Aurora cluster from a cluster snapshot of your choosing. It will find appropriate RDS snapshots and use the most recent snapshot available.

There are many snapshot matching patterns:

  • All Snapshots - The most recent cluster snapshot of all cluster snapshots found will be used.
  • By Snapshot ID - The most recent cluster snapshot found that matches a comparison of the snapshot ID will be used.
  • By Cluster ID - The most recent cluster snapshot found that matches snapshots from particular Aurora clusters will be used.
  • By Resource Tag - The most recent cluster snapshot found that matches a resource tag found on the snapshots will be used.

Once a new Aurora cluster is restored, Skeddly will create an Aurora instance for the new cluster. You can choose the RDS instance class for this new instance, such as db.t2.small or db.r3.8xlarge.

The Aurora cluster and instance identifiers can be constant, or based on other run-time information, such as the current date. This means that your Aurora cluster can have a consistent endpoint, or a variable one.

Other options can be modified during the restore process as well:

  • Automated backup restore period
  • Cluster parameter group
  • Security groups

Once the Aurora cluster has been restored, it can be accessed and used.

Then, you can optionally delete the cluster and it’s instances. The clean-up process will delete any RDS instances attached to the cluster (so you can attach more if desired), and finally the cluster itself will be deleted. When deleting the cluster, a final snapshot can be created. This allows you to save the data from your Aurora cluster for a later day.

This new action is available now. Pricing can be found on our pricing page.

Try It Today

Start lowering your RDS costs today. Sign-up for our 30 day free trial or sign-in to your Skeddly account to get started.